Stages of Ageing
Ageing in the Independent Scene
Discourse
October 25 | 19.00 h
October 26 | 19.00 h
October 27 | 10.00 h
Festsaal und Online
Eintritt frei
More information coming soon!

Stages of Ageing – the discourse programme of the Coming of Age festival takes a look at those needs in old age, that have so far been neglected in our society and in the structures of the independent theatre scene. In three talks, actors from the Berlin and national independent scene will discuss the following questions:

What could generational justice look like within the dance and performance scene, and how could resources such as labor, money, spaces, and attention be distributed more equitably? How can the desire for sustainability be balanced with the pressure to always present something new? What would be generationally appropriate funding between innovation and continuity? What about the handling and value of a so-called oeuvre and many years of artistic experience? What kind of appreciation is desirable for the lifelong work as an artist? What about the relationship of competition and mutual inspiration between old and young and the “stigma of age” as an invisible criterion in both the eligibility for funding and the selection of programs? Innovation over 50 years of age – is it possible, is there such a thing? How do groups and companies organize their intergenerational transitions and what are some best-practice examples?

In addition to the two discussions, which can be viewed live at Sophiensæle as well as on livestream, there will be a digital peer-to-peer work session on October 27, 2021 (register by September 30 here). By matching age-spanning work pairs, we will seek to build intergenerational alliances and take the first steps towards solidarity-based shifts in models of support in old age.

 

OCTOBER 25 | 7 PM | Festsaal AND ON LIVESTREAM
BEST AGER I: AGEING IN THE INDEPENDENT SCENE – THE BERLIN PANEL
Discussion on the topic of ageing and intergenerational justice in the Berlin independent scene as well as presentation of a position paper by the AG Konzeptgeförderte Gruppen for the interests of artists and groups working in Berlin for many years.
Moderation Joy Kristin Kalu, Franziska Werner

 

OCTOBER 26 | 7 PM | on zoom
BEST AGER II: AGEING IN THE INDEPENDENT SCENE – THE NATIONAL PANEL
Talk about visibility, wishes and best practice on ageing in the performing arts; with a keynote by Silke van Dyk (Professor of Political Sociology at the Institute of Sociology at the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena with a research focus on the sociology of age and demography, among other things) and subsequent discussion.
Moderation Joy Kristin Kalu, Franziska Werner GUESTS Silke van Dyk

 

OCTOBER 27 | 10 AM – 3 PM (WITH AN ONE HOUR LUNCH BREAK) | on zoom
INTERGENERATIONAL PEER TO PEER-ACADEMY ON AGE(ING) IN THE INDEPENDENT SCENE
For the Academy we are looking for protagonists of the independent theater scene who are interested in intergenerational exchange. In moderated peer-to-peer conversations we want to deal with aging in the independent scene and look for new ways and forms of intergenerational exchange of experiences and mutual support. To this end, we would like to invite people of different ages and with diverse perspectives, work and experience backgrounds to enter into a dialogue with each other, to exchange experiences, and to share knowledge and insights. Register by September 30 here.

Stages of Ageing
Altern in der freien Szene
Diskurs
Oktober 25 | 19.00 Uhr
Oktober 26 | 19.00 Uhr
Oktober 27 | 10.00 Uhr
Festsaal und Online
Eintritt frei
Mehr in Kürze hier!

Stages of Ageing – das Diskursprogramm des Festivals Coming of Age nimmt jene Bedürfnisse im Alter(n) in den Blick, die in unserer Gesellschaft sowie in den Strukturen der Freien Theaterszene bislang zu kurz kommen. In drei Gesprächen werden sich Akteur*innen der Berliner und der überregionalen Freien Szene über folgende Fragen verständigen:

Wie könnte eine Generationengerechtigkeit innerhalb der Tanz- und Performanceszene aussehen, und wie könnten Ressourcen wie Arbeit, Geld, Räume und Aufmerksamkeit gerechter verteilt werden? Wie kann der Wunsch nach Nachhaltigkeit mit dem Zwang, immer Neues präsentieren zu müssen, ausbalanciert werden? Was wäre eine generationengerechte Förderung zwischen Innovation und Kontinuität? Wie steht es um den Umgang mit und den Wert eines sogenannten Werkes und langjähriger künstlerischer Erfahrung? Welche Wertschätzung ist für die lebenslange Arbeit als Künstler*in wünschenswert? Wie steht es um das Verhältnis von Konkurrenz und gegenseitiger Inspiration zwischen Alt und Jung und den „Makel des Alters“ als unsichtbares Kriterium sowohl in der „Förderwürdigkeit“ als auch in der Programmauswahl? Innovation über 50 – geht das, gibt’s das? Wie organisieren Gruppen und Companies ihre Generationenwechsel und welche best-practice-Beispiele gibt es hierfür?
 
Neben den beiden Diskussionen, die sowohl live vor Ort in den Sophiensælen als auch im Livestream verfolgt werden können, wird es am 27. Oktober 2021 ein digitales Peer-to-Peer-Arbeitstreffen geben (Anmeldung bis 30. September hier), für das wir altersübergreifende Arbeits-Paare matchen und in dem wir versuchen, intergenerationale Bündnisse zu bilden und erste Schritte in Richtung solidarischer Veränderungen von Modellen der Unterstützung im Alter(n) zu vollziehen.

 

OKTOBER 25 | 19.00 Uhr | festsaal und online IM livestream
Stages of Ageing I: Altern in der freien Szene – das Berlin-Panel
Gespräch zum Thema Altern und Generationengerechtigkeit in der Berliner Freien Szene sowie Vorstellung eines Positionspapiers der AG Konzeptgeförderte Gruppen für die Interessen von langjährig in Berlin arbeitenden Künstler*innen und Gruppen.
Moderation Joy Kristin Kalu, Franziska Werner

 

OKTOBER 26 | 19.00 Uhr | auf zoom
Stages of Ageing II: Altern in der freien Szene – das überregionale Panel
Gespräch über die Sichtbarkeit, Wünsche und best-practice-Beispiele zum Altern in den darstellenden Künsten. Mit einem Impulsvortrag von Silke van Dyk (Professorin für Politische Soziologie am Institut für Soziologie der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena mit Forschungsschwerpunkt u.a. Soziologie des Alters und der Demografie) und anschließendem Gespräch.
Moderation Joy Kristin Kalu, Franziska Werner GÄSTE Silke van Dyk

 

OKTOBER 27 | 10 – 15 Uhr (inklusive EINSTÜNDIGER Mittagspause) | auf zoom
INTERGENERATIONALE PEER TO PEER-ACADEMY ÜBER DAS ALTER(N) IN DER FREIEN SZENE
Für die Academy suchen wir nach Akteur*innen der Freien Szene, die Lust auf intergenerationalen Austausch haben. In moderierten Peer-to-Peer-Gesprächen wollen wir uns mit dem Älterwerden in den Künsten auseinandersetzen und dabei nach neuen Wegen und Formen des altersübergreifenden Erfahrungsaustauschs und der gegenseitigen Unterstützung suchen. Dazu möchten wir Menschen verschiedenen Alters und mit diversen Perspektiven, Arbeits- und Erfahrungshintergründen einladen, in einen Dialog miteinander zu treten, Erfahrungen auszutauschen, Wissen und Erkenntnisse zu teilen. Anmeldung bis 30. September hier.