Sheena McGrandles
Dawn: A musical on reproduction
Dance/Music/Theater/Performance/Concert
September 25 | 19.30 + 14.00 h
September 26 | 19.30 + 14.00 h
Uferstudios
15/10 €
in English

It is compulsory to wear a medical mask during the performance, also while seated. The show will take place at the Uferstudios.

In an autofictional musical, Sheena McGrandles interweaves personal experiences with myths and narrations from ancient and contemporary times, in order to speculate about our possible futures and the role of reproduction. Together with a temporary collective of Berlin artists, DAWN explores different perspectives on parenthood and the power of the child as a symbol of hope. Where does the human need to create a family come from? Which bodies may and can reproduce, how and where? What wishes do we project onto a child who, as part of a new generation, could permanently change our current society with its classic family constructs and role distributions?

Four bodies on the edge of fertility enter into a dialogue with Dawn, a Goddess with rosy fingers, that opens the gates of heaven for the Sun-God to rise. At sundown, this Goddess dies, only to be reborn again the next morning. Together with a small choir of childless people, they create an experimental musical that combines concert, spoken word and performance into a multi-layered and humorous artistic work. 

The event lasts a total of about 2.5 hours and is family friendly. It takes place outside and inside. Part of it is a two-hour performance indoors with a short break, in which all audience members have to leave the room. During the performance it is mandatory to wear a medical mask. The main language is English spoken language. There are no abrupt light changes or surprising effects. Comfortable chairs, mats on the floor and one beanbag are available for seating. There is free choice of seats. The two wheelchair spaces and one beanbag seat can be reserved by phone or booked via the online ticket shop or at the box office if available. After the performance, it is possible to stay in the café or in the courtyard of Uferstudios for about another hour. The entire area is wheelchair accessible. The accessibility information will be continuously updated. If you have any questions or need further information, please contact Gina Jeske at or 030 27 89 00 35.

Sheena McGrandles is a dancer and choreographer living in Berlin. She works in various contexts including theatre/stage, education and independent art and culture projects. Her current group of works explores radical temporality as a means of detailed exploration and exaggeration of movement. Her works create hyper-real, multi-narrative and humorous moving landscapes. Sheena presents her works nationally and internationally, including London (The Place), Amsterdam (something raw), Berlin (Sophiensæle), Mexico City (Museo Universitario Del Chopo), Los Angeles (PSSST). With Figured, Sheena McGrandles was invited to the Tanzplattform 2020.

ConCept Sheena McGrandles BY AND WITH Sheena McGrandles, Moss Beynon Juckes, Claire Vivianne Sobottke, Colin Self, Stellan Veloce, Marta Forsberg Choir DIRECTION Colin Self Choir Olympia Bukkakis, Marek Polgesek, Emeka Ene, Valerie Renay Co-ConCept, DramaturgY Mila Pavicevic VOCAL COACH Ignacio Jarquin Choreographic outside eye Maria F. Scaroni IRISH DANCE COACH Constantin Kirsten LIGHTING DESIGN, TECHNICAL DIRECTOR Annegret Schalke SET, COSTUMES Michiel Keuper, Martin Sieweke PRODUCTION ehrliche Arbeit – freelance office for culture 

A production by Sheena McGrandles, in collaboration with ehrliche arbeit – freies Büro für Kultur and SOPHIENSÆLE. Supported by the Capital Cultural Fund and the Senate Department for Culture and Europe with funds of the mobility fund “Draussenstadt”. Supported by PSR-Kollektiv, Uferstudios and Tanzfabrik. Media partner: Berlin Art Link, taz.die tageszeitung, tipBerlin

Sheena McGrandles
Dawn: A musical on reproduction
Tanz/Musik/Theater/Performance/Konzert
September 25 | 14.00 + 19.30 Uhr
September 26 | 14.00 + 19.30 Uhr
Uferstudios
15/10 €
auf Englisch

Es gilt während der Vorstellung auch am Platz die Pflicht zum Tragen einer medizinischen Maske. Die Show findet in den Uferstudios statt.

In einem autofiktionalen Musical verknüpft Sheena McGrandles persönliche Erfahrungen mit Mythen sowie Erzählungen aus der Antike und Gegenwart, um über neue Wege der Familiengründung zu spekulieren. Gemeinsam mit einem temporären Kollektiv aus Berliner Künstler*innen untersucht DAWN verschiedene Perspektiven auf Elternschaft und die Symbolkraft des Kindes als Hoffnungsträger*in. Woher kommt das menschliche Bedürfnis, eine Familie zu gründen? Welche Körper dürfen und können sich wie und wo fortpflanzen? Welche Wünsche projizieren wir auf ein Kind, das als Teil einer neuen Generation unsere gegenwärtige Gesellschaft mit ihren klassischen Familienkonstrukten und Rollenverteilungen nachhaltig verändern könnte?

Vier Körper am Rande der Fruchtbarkeit beginnen einen Dialog mit Dawn, der Göttin der Morgendämmerung, die jeden Abend stirbt, nur um am Morgen zu neuem Leben zu erwachen. Zusammen mit einem kleinen Chor aus Kinderlosen kreiert das Ensemble ein experimentelles Musical, in dem aus Konzert, Spoken Word und Performance eine vielschichtige und humorvolle künstlerische Arbeit entsteht.

Die Veranstaltung dauert insgesamt ca. 2,5 Stunden und ist familienfreundlich. Sie findet draußen und drinnen statt. Teil davon ist eine zweistündige Performance im Innenraum mit einer kurzen Pause, in der der Raum von allen Zuschauer*innen verlassen werden muss. Während der Performance besteht die Pflicht zum Tragen einer medizinischen Maske. Als Sprache wird vor allem englische Lautsprache genutzt. Es kommen keine abrupten Lichtwechsel oder überraschend einsetzende Effekte vor. Als Sitzgelegenheiten stehen bequeme Stühle, Matten auf dem Boden und ein Sitzsack zur Verfügung. Es gibt freie Platzwahl. Die zwei Rollstuhlplätze und der Sitzsackplatz können nach Verfügbarkeit telefonisch reserviert oder im Online-Ticketshop und an der Abendkasse gebucht werden. Im Anschluss ist es möglich, sich für ca. eine weitere Stunde im Café oder im Hof der Uferstudios aufzuhalten. Das gesamte Gelände ist barrierefrei zugänglich. Die Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit werden laufend ergänzt. Bei Fragen oder für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an Gina Jeske unter oder 030 27 89 00 35.

Sheena McGrandles ist Tänzerin und Choreografin und lebt in Berlin. Sie arbeitet in verschiedenen Kontexten wie Theater/Bühne, Bildung und in unabhängigen Kunst- und Kulturprojekten. Ihre aktuellen Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit radikaler Zeitlichkeit als Mittel zur detaillierten Erforschung und Überzeichnung von Bewegung. Ihre Arbeiten schaffen hyper-reale, multi-narrative und humorvolle, sich bewegende Landschaften. Sheena präsentiert ihre Arbeiten national sowie international, u.a. in London (The Place), Amsterdam (something raw), Berlin (Sophiensæle), Mexico City (Museo Universitario Del Chopo), Los Angeles (PSSST). Mit Figured wurde Sheena McGrandles zur Tanzplattform 2020 eingeladen.

Konzept Sheena McGrandles Von und mit Sheena McGrandles, Moss Beynon Juckes, Claire Vivianne Sobottke, Colin Self, Stellan Veloce, Marta Forsberg CHORLEITUNG Colin Self Chor Olympia Bukkakis, Marek Polgesek, Emeka Ene, Valerie Renay Ko-Konzept, Dramaturgie Mila Pavicevic VOCAL COACH Ignacio Jarquin CHOREOGRAFISCHES OUTSIDE EYE Maria F. Scaroni IRISH DANCE COACH Constantin Kirsten Lichtdesign, Technische Leitung Annegret Schalke Bühne, Kostüm Michiel Keuper, Martin Sieweke Produktionsleitung ehrliche Arbeit – freies Kulturbüro

Eine Produktion von Sheena McGrandles. In Kooperation mit ehrliche Arbeit – freies Kulturbüro und SOPHIENSÆLE. Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa aus Mitteln des Mobilitätsfonds „Draussenstadt“. Mit Unterstützung durch das PSR Collective, Uferstudios und Tanzfabrik. Medienpartner: Berlin Art Link, taz.die tageszeitung, tipBerlin