Olivia Hyunsin Kim / Ddanddarakim
Like Daughter, Like Mother
Taking care of motherhood
Performance
October 02 | 19.00 h
October 03 | 19.00 h
October 04 | 19.00 h
Hochzeitssaal
15/10€
German + English

I would do anything for love. The mother is considered the epitome of the care worker and is, at the same time, a figure forced to constantly fail: whatever she does – it is simply never enough! The choreographer and performer Olivia Hyunsin Kim has, nevertheless, chosen motherhood and in Like Daughter, Like Mother confronts the question of how she can still remain an artist. Because, as the recent pandemic with home office and homeschooling has shown us again, the path to reconciling family and career is still a long one.

In an audio-visual performance, Olivia Hyunsin Kim creates images of motherhood that oscillate between guilt, sacrifice, and unworthy parenthood. At the same time, she develops fluid forms of motherhood that break down biologically and socially shaped understandings of roles. Based on her relationship with her own mother on the one hand and with her newly born daughter on the other, Olivia Hyunsin Kim takes a close look at the social expectations placed on her and, at the same time, humorously takes aim at them, for: I would do anything for love, but I won’t do that.

OLIVIA HYUNSIN KIM works as a choreographer and curator in Berlin, Frankfurt a.M. and Seoul. She won the first place of the Amadeu Antonio Arts Award 2019 for Miss Yellow and Me – I wanna be a musical. She completed her master’s degree in choreography and performance at the Institute of Applied Theatre Studies Giessen and the HfMDK Frankfurt with distinction. In 2017 she was danceWEB scholarship holder at Impulstanz and is 2020/21 scholarship holder at the Kulturakademie Tarabya. Her work has been shown at Sophiensælen Berlin, Art Sonje Center Seoul, Mousonturm Frankfurt, Museo Universitario del Chopo Mexico City, among others.

CONCEPT Olivia Hyunsin Kim BY AND WITH Wicki Bernhardt, Yeonsook Jeong, Olivia Hyunsin Kim, Jones Seitz

A production by Olivia Hyunsin Kim/ddanddarakim in co-production with SOPHIENSÆLE Berlin and zeitraumexit Mannheim as part of the Wunder der Prärie festival. Funded by the Capital Cultural Fund. Media partner: Berlin Art Link, taz.die tageszeitung, tipBerlin

Olivia Hyunsin Kim / Ddanddarakim
Like Daughter, Like Mother
Taking care of motherhood
Performance
Oktober 02 | 19.00 Uhr
Oktober 03 | 19.00 Uhr
Oktober 04 | 19.00 Uhr
Hochzeitssaal
15/10€
Deutsch + Englisch

I would do anything for love. Die Mutter gilt als Inbegriff der Care-Arbeitenden und ist gleichzeitig eine zum ständigen Scheitern gezwungene Figur: Was sie auch tut – es ist einfach never enough! Die Choreografin und Performerin Olivia Hyunsin Kim hat sich trotzdem für die Mutterschaft entschieden und stellt sich in Like Daughter, Like Mother der Frage, wie sie dennoch Künstlerin bleibt. Denn der Weg, Familie und Karriere zu vereinbaren, ist immer noch lang – das hat uns jüngst erst wieder die Pandemie mit Homeoffice und Homeschooling gezeigt.

In einer audio-visuellen Performance entwirft Olivia Hyunsin Kim Bilder von Mutterschaft, die zwischen Schuld, Aufopferung und Rabenelternschaft changieren. Zugleich entwickelt sie fließende Formen des Mutterseins, die biologisch und sozial geprägte Rollenverständnisse aufbrechen. Anhand der Beziehung zur eigenen Mutter einerseits und zur frisch geborenen Tochter andererseits nimmt Olivia Hyunsin Kim die an sie gestellte gesellschaftliche Erwartung unter die Lupe und gleichzeitig humorvoll aufs Korn, denn: I would do anything for love, but I won’t do that.

OLIVIA HYUNSIN KIM arbeitet als Choreografin und Kuratorin in Berlin, Frankfurt a.M. und Seoul. Sie gewann den ersten Platz des Amadeu Antonio Kunstpreises 2019 für Miss Yellow and Me – I wanna be a musical. Sie schloss ihren Master in Choreografie und Performance am Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft Gießen und der HfMDK Frankfurt mit Auszeichnung ab. 2017 war sie danceWEB Stipendiatin beim Impulstanz und ist 2020/21 Stipendiatin der Kulturakademie Tarabya. Ihre Arbeiten wurden u.a. in den Sophiensælen Berlin, im Art Sonje Center Seoul, am Mousonturm Frankfurt, im Museo Universitario del Chopo Mexiko City gezeigt.

KONZEPT Olivia Hyunsin Kim VON UND MIT Wicki Bernhardt, Yeonsook Jeong, Olivia Hyunsin Kim, Jones Seitz

Eine Produktion von Olivia Hyunsin Kim/ddanddarakim in Koproduktion mit SOPHIENSÆLE Berlin und zeitraumexit Mannheim im Rahmen des Wunder der Prärie Festival. Gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds. Medienpartner: Berlin Art Link, taz.die tageszeitung, tipBerlin