Corinne Maier
Die Zufügung
Lecture Performance
October 30 | 19.00 h
October 31 | 19.00 h
Hochzeitssaal
15/10€
in German

Four years ago the Basel theater-maker Corinne Maier began planning a piece about the subject of aging, which she wanted to develop together with the exceptional author Gerlind Reinshagen. Arguably the best-known female playwright in the FRG in the 1970s and 1980s, Reinshagen, born in 1926, was herself an expert on aging – and part of a transgenerational team that spanned an age gap of more than 60 years. On Pentecost 2019, however, the author passed away before rehearsals actually began. What remained were scraps of conversations, fragments, thoughts and first notes – and the director’s difficult decision to stand on stage herself and alone! The result was a gripping lecture-performance, text fragments by Reinshagen, improvisations by Maier and the music of Elvis Presley. “Zufügung is precisely not designed as a tribute to a single deceased person, but as a true talk by a theatrical artist on the subject of age and aging. Maier presents a web of conflicts. Conflicts that everyone has to face.” (Aargauer Zeitung)

CORINNE MAIER lives and works as a director and performer in Basel. She studied cultural studies and aesthetic practice in Hildesheim until 2009. She worked as a dramaturg, is co-founder of the theater collective magic garden, and first appeared on stage herself in lecture performances. In 2012, she began directing and has since staged Past Is Present (2013) and Like A Prayer (2015), among others, with which she has toured to festivals in Europe and India. Among her more recent works Children of Tomorrow (2017), The end of the world as we know it (2018) and BUNKERN (2019). Extensive expeditions and research are at the beginning of her often documentary theater works.

TEXTS Gerlind Reinshagen, Corinne Maier PERFORMANCE Corinne Maier DESIGN Christoph Rufer SOUND ENGINEERING, SOUND ADVISORY Bernhard la Dous CHOREOGRAPHY Berit Jentzsch ARTISTIC CONTRIBUTION Valerie Hess DIRECTORIAL ASSISTANCE Silvan Rechsteiner LIGHT DESIGN, TECHNICAL MANAGEMENT Thomas Kohler OUTSIDE EYE Marcel Schwald PRODUCTION MANAGEMENT Elena Conradt, productionDOCK Thanks to Anne Haug, Catriona Guggenbühl, Kris Merken

A production by Corinne Maier in co-production with Kaserne Basel, Theater Winkelwiese Zürich, Theater Tuchlaube Aarau and Schlachthaus Theater Bern. Supported by Fachausschuss Tanz und Theater BS/BL, Migros kulturprozent, the Ernst Göhner Foundation, SIS Swiss Performers Foundation and Jürg Georg Bürki Foundation. The guest performance as part of the Coming of Age festival is made possible by funds from the Capital Cultural Fund. Media partner: Berlin Art Link, taz.die tageszeitung, tipBerlin

Corinne Maier
Die Zufügung
über das Altern und den Tod hinaus
Lecture Performance
Oktober 30 | 19.00 Uhr
Oktober 31 | 19.00 Uhr
Hochzeitssaal
15/10€
auf Deutsch

Vor drei Jahren begann die Basler Theatermacherin Corinne Maier ein Stück zum Thema Altern zu planen, das sie gemeinsam mit der Ausnahmeautorin Gerlind Reinshagen entwickeln wollte. Die wohl bekannteste weibliche Dramatikerin der BRD in den 1970er und 1980er Jahren war als Jahrgang 1926 selbst eine Expertin im Altern – und das in einem transgenerationalen Team, das einen Altersunterschied von über 60 Jahren umspannte. Pfingsten 2019 verstarb die Autorin jedoch noch vor dem eigentlichen Probenbeginn. Übrig blieben Gesprächsfetzen, Fragmente, Gedanken und erste Notizen – und die schwere Entscheidung der Regisseurin selbst und allein auf der Bühne zu stehen! Heraus kam eine packende Lecture Performance, Textfragmenten von Reinshagen, Improvisationen von Maier und der Musik von Elvis Presley. „Die Zufügung ist eben nicht als Hommage an eine einzelne Verstorbene angelegt, sondern als True Talk einer Theaterschaffenden zum Thema Alter und Altern. Maier präsentiert ein Netz aus Konflikten. Konflikte, denen sich alle stellen müssen.“ (Aargauer Zeitung)

CORINNE MAIER lebt und arbeitet als Regisseurin und Performerin in Basel. Sie studierte bis 2009 in Hildesheim Kulturwissenschaften und aesthetische Praxis. Sie arbeitete als Dramaturgin, ist Mitbegründerin des Theaterkollektivs magic garden und stand zunächst in Lecture Performances selbst auf der Bühne. 2012 begann sie, Regie zu führen und inszenierte seither u. a. Past Is Present (2013) und Like A Prayer (2015), mit denen sie auf Festivals in Europa und Indien unterwegs war. Zu ihren neueren Arbeiten Children of Tomorrow (2017), The end of the world as we know it (2018) und BUNKERN (2019) Ausführliche Expeditionen und Recherchen stehen am Anfang ihrer oft dokumentarischen Theaterarbeiten.

TEXTE Gerlind Reinshagen, Corinne Maier PERFORMANCE Corinne Maier AUSSTATTUNG Christoph Rufer TONTECHNIK, SOUNDBERATUNG Bernhard la Dous CHOREOGRAFIE Berit Jentzsch KÜNSTLERISCHE MITARBEIT Valerie Hess REGIEASSISTENZ Silvan Rechsteiner LICHTDESIGN, TECHNISCHE LEITUNG Thomas Kohler OUTSIDE EYE Marcel Schwald PRODUKTIONSLEITUNG Elena Conradt, produktionsDOCK DANK AN Anne Haug, Catriona Guggenbühl, Kris Merken

Eine Produktion von Corinne Maier in Koproduktion mit Kaserne Basel, Theater Winkelwiese Zürich, Theater Tuchlaube Aarau und dem Schlachthaus Theater Bern. Unterstützt von Fachausschuss Tanz und Theater BS/BL, der, Migros kulturprozent, der Ernst Göhner Stiftung, SIS Schweizerische Interpretenstiftung und Jürg Georg Bürki Stiftung. Das Gastspiel im Rahmen des Festivals Coming of Age wird ermöglicht aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds. Medienpartner: Berlin Art Link, taz.die tageszeitung, tipBerlin